Stories OnLine Blogs

Story Writer

Story Writer

The other day I noticed that almost all the blogs I’d written for Stories OnLine had been deleted. This wasn’t a total surprise. The site deletes them after a certain time and as I’d not contributed any blogs there since I started this one on WordPress it was inevitable that they would eventually disappear. However, to make sure that the link to this blog wasn’t lost I added a new blog with the necessary plug and made a few comments about what I thought about the majority of blogs on Stories OnLine.

And the outcome is that I’ve just had a flood of visitors to this blog. This is very gratifying (but bound to be a very temporary phenomenon). I also received a few e-mails from Stories OnLine readers in response to my almost rhetorical question: “So, what should I write about?”

First of all I should state that I have no complaint about the blog facility on Stories OnLine. It’s perfectly good for the purposes for which it’s intended and for many years was the only place where I posted any blogs. The reason I stopped contributing and why I opened this one is that I came to realise that it was the wrong kind of forum for me. And for evidence of that, all you need do is scan the blogs that are invariably featured. Almost all the blogs are pretty much of the nature I mentioned in my own little contribution. They are very narrow in their range and very inward-looking. There is little attempt to entertain the reader who isn’t especially bothered about the travails of the authors, who haven’t noticed an absence of stories from that writer and don’t really care about the progress (or otherwise) of the writer’s fiction. There have been only a few authors who’ve tried to buck the trend, including the late lamented rache and Anna Siciliana.

The advice I was given by the interested readers was essentially that I should write blogs that are exactly like the blogs currently featured. I have no intention of quoting from the e-mails as I guess the writers chose to write to me rather than the whole world, but the general gist is that the kind of blog I should write is no different from all the others (and I guess becomes indistinguishable from them and just as boring).

But let’s be fair. In the absence of any other mechanism, what should the Stories OnLine writer do if they wish to promote their fiction or pass on news about themselves that they consider the world should know. Probably not the Forum on Google Groups which has a quite different focus (in which the minutiae of grammar is expounded on in great length and writers rant about what’s they think is wrong about other writers’ stories).

But all this goes to show that if I want to write blogs that aren’t like all the others on Stories OnLine, unless my intention is to annoy the average sex fiction reader, I’m better off posting my blogs elsewhere.

And that elsewhere is, of course, here.

Leave a Reply

